Lay Delegates
Lay Delegates

Lay Delegates to Diocesan Convention

Based on Title I Canon 1 Section 2 of the Canons of the Diocese of Bethlehem

Each Parish and each Mission shall elect one or more Lay Delegates based on the number of lay members as reported in the annual Parochial Report for the year ending December 31 preceding to to represent said Parish and Mission in Convention; and may also elect Alternates, equal in number to the Delegates to which the Parish or Mission is entitled, to take the place of the regular Delegates in case of absence:

Number of Lay Members Reported in Parochial Report

      • Less than 100                             1 (one) Lay Delegate
      • 100 – 299                                     2 (two) Lay Delegates
      • 300 – 499                                    3 (three) Lay Delegates
      • 500 – 699                                    4 (four) Lay Delegates

Parishes or Missions reporting 700 or more lay members in the Parochial Report shall have an additional delegate for each additional 199 lay members reported above 700.

Download the Certificate of Election of Lay Delegates as a Word document or PDF



Nominations for the 150th Diocese of Bethlehem Convention are due by July 15. Download the nomination form Word or PDF. The following positions are to be elected:

           The Commission on Ministry

  • Two (2) to be elected.
  • One (1) clergy person and one (1) lay person for a three-year term.

          The Diocesan Council

  • Four (4) to be elected.
  • Two (2) clergy persons and two (2) lay persons for a three-year term.

The Standing Committee

  • Two (2) to be elected.
  • One (1) clergy person and one (1) lay person for a four-year term.



Resolutions for the 150th Diocese of Bethlehem Convention are being accepts through July 15, 2021. Resolutions can be submitted by:

  • A Diocesan Committee or Commission
  • Three (3) delegates to convention

Resolution must be submitted in the following format:

  • Title of Resolution
  • The full text of the resolution beginning with “Be it resolve”
  • The explanation of the resolution
  • The name(s) of Committee or Commission or those submitting the resolution

Resolutions must be received by July 15, 2021. This is a firm date.

  • Email completed resolutions to Paula Lapinski
  • Mailed: 333 Wyandotte St, Bethlehem, PA 18018
  • Faxed: 610-691-1682


View the resolutions passed by the 149th Diocesan Convention


Convention Journals

2020 Convention Journal (PDF)
2019 Convention Journal (PDF)
2018 Convention Journal (PDF)
2017 Convention Journal (PDF)
2016 Convention Journal (PDF) and 2016 Journal Addendum Canonical and Constitutional Resolutions (PDF)
2015 Convention Journal (PDF)
2014 Convention Journal (PDF)